Webinar: Carbon markets meet carbon farming in practice


News / 2.05.2022

Webinar: Carbon markets meet carbon farming in practice – learning through carbon credit pilots

How should carbon markets work? What can we learn from real-life pilot schemes that reward farmers for carbon storage? What are the implications on farm economy and farm management? What is the difference between the voluntary carbon offsets and the future European carbon credit market?

Join us to discuss and learn on June 3rd, 2022. The webinar brings together farmer and food chain representatives, advisors and intermediaries, policymakers, and other stakeholders to discuss the practical side of the carbon market from the perspective of the farmers and land managers.

The webinar is part of EU Green Week and is organised by Baltic Sea Action Group in collaboration with the Finnish Catch-the-Carbon programme and the global 4 per 1000 initiative. The event is co-funded by LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme project* and by MULTA project**.

SEB provides facilities for the webinar as part of the Baltic Sea co-operation with BSAG.

 

When?                                       June 3, 2022, 9:00-11:00 CET (10-12 EET)

Where?                                      online

For whom?                               Anyone wondering what carbon farming initiative for a European carbon market will imply in practice. Anyone who has experiences to share. Anyone working for sustainable agriculture and food systems. Anyone working with climate measures.

Please use this link to join us online. 


PROGRAMME:

Time: 9:00-11:00 CET / 10:00-12:00 EET (local Helsinki time)

9:00 (CET) / 10:00 (EET)
Opening
Laura Höijer, Managing Director, Baltic Sea Action Group

9:10 (CET) / 10:10 (EET)  
Framing of the event: Contributions from the Finnish Carbon Action work to the EU carbon farming agenda
Kaj Granholm, Project Manager, Baltic Sea Action Group

9:20 (CET) / 10:20 (EET) 
Reflections from the global perspective
Paul Luu, Executive secretary, 4 per 1000

9:30 (CET) / 10:30 (EET) 
Case 1: Trading pilot with carbon credits based on organic soil amendment
Tanya Santalahti, Head of Carbon removals, Soilfood

9:40 (CET) / 10:40 (EET)  
Case 2: Naturellement Pop Corn Project’s carbon payments
 Jonah Ehmann, Head of agronomic operations, Nataïs

9:50 (CET) / 10:50 (EET) 
Case 3: Carbon compensation options and lessons from economics research
Markku Ollikainen, Professor emeritus, University of Helsinki

10:00 (CET) / 11:00 (EET) 
Open moderated discussion, Q&A

10:50 (CET) / 11:50 (EET) 
Key take-home messages: the value of pilots and the needs for further study
Laura Höijer, Managing Director, Baltic Sea Action Group

 

* LIFE Preparatory project LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme (2021-2022). To meet the EU 2050 climate goals, the EU Commission envisions a European market for nature-based carbon sink credits. The LIFE CarbonFarmingScheme project thas investigated the preconditions and governance elements for such a market from the perspective of both the potential buyers of carbon storage credits and potential suppliers, the farmers and foresters.

** MULTA (Multi-benefit solutions to climate-smart agriculture) project (2019-2025) funded by the Strategic Research Council at the Academy of Finland. MULTA studies how carbon sequestration can be enhanced using farming practices and how soil carbon sequestration can be verified. MULTA also studies how climate-smart practices can be implemented on farms and the role of policies and economics that support carbon farming and its role in the food system, climate policy and society in general.

EU Green week event banner 2022

READ MORE NEWS

Donate